Product Review: Ben & Jerry’s Red Velvet Cake

Red velvet cake has been my favorite cake flavor for as long as I can remember.  What is not to love about the beautiful deep red cake with cocoa notes topped with tasty cream cheese frosting?  Beautiful and delicious.  I was overjoyed when I found out that Ben & Jerry’s made this delectable looking flavor of ice cream.  I am a fan of most of their ice creams and had high expectations…

And I was disappointed.  I opened the container to find the base more of a strawberry pink than the deep rich red I expected to see.  Nothing that resembled any process of making red velvet cake.  I’ve made red velvet cake many times before and the color is slighty different in batter phase to baked phase.  Oh well.  Maybe the flavor will be more representative.  Nope.  The base was way too sweet, the chunks of “cake” didn’t taste like any red velvet I have ever had and on top of that they had an off-putting texture of chewy gumdrops.  The kind that get stuck in your teeth.

C’mon, Ben & Jerry’s.  You can do a lot better than this.

May 6, 2012. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

